Faculty Senate Minutes

September 12, 2024

Call to order:

A regular meeting of the University of North Alabama® Faculty Senate convened via MS Teams Video Conferencing at 3:30pm with President Hunt presiding.

I. Recognized Proxies

Dr. Justin Joseph for Senator L. Graham Mr. Patrick Seward for Senator Gudmundsson Senator Danny Burton for Senator Makowski Mr. Patrick Shremshock for Senator OgNeal

Members in attendance

Lisa Ann Blankinship, Sidney Blaylock, Miranda Bowie Charles Brooks, Keli Brothers, Danny Burton, Corey Cagle, Gabriela Carrasco, Justin Carter, Jian Chen, Freda Coleman-Reed, Helen Coronel, James DaSambiagio

Campus Construction Projects ó new Computer and Mathematics Building (open), Bank Independent Stadium (underway), new residence hall (begin this year), Engineering Building (planning phase), Art and Music facility (sourcing funding opportunities) Strategic Plan ó õPride in the Gold Standardö; Minnette Ellis has been appointed Executive Director of University Priorities

Municipal Elections ó upcoming next year (2025)

VI. Remarks from EVPAA/ Provost Smith

Provost Smith addressed the faculty senate and answered senator questions.

Student success is driven by a combination of scholarship, teaching, and community engagement

Questions for the Provost should be collected by the Deans, Faculty Senate, or departments can ask Provost Smith to attend a meeting.

Senator concerns included:

- o hiring schedule (dependent upon budget)
- o parking on campus (question for Facilities)
- faculty webpages (currently working on interface with Faculty Success/ Watermark)
- o admin assistant sharing (more information was requested)
- o timeline for Arts & Music building
- o student dorm conditions (FS President Hunt working on this)
- o CASE Dean search process (more information forthcoming)

VII. Remarks from Faculty Senate President Hunt

FS President Hunt has met with President Kitts and Provost Smith.

Reminder: Senate is a leadership position more than service and that senior faculty should help support junior faculty

Senator Makowski will serve as parliamentarian.

Parking concerns can be sent to FS President Hunt

VIII. Elections for Committee Vacancies

- a. Food Service Committee (Faculty-at-large representative for 2024-2027) ó Dr. Helen Coronel elected.
- b. Multicultural Advisory Committee (CASE, 2024-2025) ó Dr. Alejandra Alvarado-Brizuela elected.

IX. Reports

- a. Standing Committees
 - i. Faculty Affairs (Chair Chris Klein) ó no report
 - ii. Academic Affairs (Chair John Hodges) ó no report
 - iii. Faculty Attitude Survey (Chair Michael Floren)
 - 1) Presentation of Faculty Attitudes Survey (FAS) results 6 Motion to accept FAS was made by Sen. Carrasco and seconded by Sen. Scott. Discussion. Vote to release FAS to faculty (36Y:0N).

Faculty Handbook Oversight (Chair Melanie Looser) ó Report presented by iv. Sen. Blankinship. Committee recommends guidance for lecturer/ Senior Lecturer reappointment process and transition of Instruction to Tenure tract position (ACONHP). Motion to discuss Sen. Carrasco and seconded by Sen.